Home » Experience » One Fine Day

One Fine Day

Feb 6th is one of the most memorable days of my life. It is not my birthday, anniversary or my kids birthday.  This day is special as I accomplished something in my life. Now, did I get a promotion? No. Did I get a hike in my salary? not at all. Did my husband gift me a cruise trip to Bahamas? No, not yet…I am waiting for that one.  Did I win a lottery? No not that lucky. What did I do that big,  that Feb 6th 2013 is a special day of my life!.  My kid learnt to swim, float and jump in water independently. What!! You must be thinking I am some sort of nerd or something. I am a proud mom for her every single accomplishment, I think that is a very positive technique of raising a kid. But just swimming….. is that such a big of a deal!! Yes it is in this case. My kid had water phobia. She never could bathe in a bathtub full of water. We always used a mug or a hand shower. She would walk a around the block  if she ever came across a water sprinkler in the garden. Whenever my husband and I took her for swimming in our pool, she would scream and run away from pool, such that our neighbors asked  “Is everything okay with the girl”. We talked to our pediatrician about her fears. He asked if she had any bad experiences such as drowning which could have raised such fears in her. But after an analysis, he said this is very common, some kids get it genetically (Must be from my dad :)). Also, suggested us to not take her to pool again until she is comfortable in our bath tub. I tried to sit with her in our bath tub with water toys. She would scream and get her toys and me out of the tub as if we all were sinking and she is trying to rescue us. We tried at a few local swim schools. Didn’t work. The night before her swim class she would hide her swim suit, cap and swim glasses. I spent all my time looking up for her swim gears. But my husband and I were determined to help her face her fears. Then we enrolled her in a professional swim school, it has been almost an year now. We saw that she was getting better, at least she was getting comfortable in water. My kid is very brave, I am not saying this just because she is my daughter. But based on my un-biased analysis, she is brave to face darkness, she is not afraid of heights, she is not afraid of strangers, she is brave to manage people, make a place for herself  in a big atmosphere in between strangers. Then why was she afraid of water!

One fine day, Feb 6th 2013, after a friend’s surprise birthday party, my kid insisted on going for swimming along with our neighbor friends. I took her simply not to discourage her. Even if she just dipped herself and swim with barbel and noodles or some floats I’d be happy. But suddenly as if somebody pressed a switch, specially ON button…. or something triggered her or she got enlightened just like Buddha under the Bodhi tree, she started to swim . She swam about 5 feet by herself.  Started floating on her  back, flipped and swam  forward. She did NOT stop there started jumping in water which we have been trying since weeks. She totally stopped listening to what I was saying. Her reception was completely turned off and she repeatedly jumped in water, swim then float and flip and swim again. This was really an accomplishment given the challenges she had. I felt as if I faced my own fears. Her accomplishment was beyond my imagination. The key to her accomplishment is persistence, determination, and professional guidance. After this experience, what I have learnt is each person has her own strengths and weaknesses, passion and fear. If we want to work on our weaknesses or fear just be persistent in your attempts. Some fine day things will fall in your place and will feel like an accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

